City Life (The Acoustic Version)

from by Matthew Ryan



City Life

City life
Rain and on the street
I'd crawl back home
If I thought she was asleep
The way we were
That soft & perfect kiss
Summer ends
& it comes down to this

We're in the blizzard now
We're the dream
& fate's trying to be the plow
You gotta fight
With all the light
In your skull
We've come too far
To lay down by the side of the road

August one
My head was full of junk
You see in time
A cruel pollution comes
She didn't cry
Until I opened up my mouth
We're headed north
But my god this feels south
My God this feels south

I miss your smile
I miss the way you'd move
Before all this
Before so much to lose
My eyes aglow
& on the fire escape
Why's it get so quiet
When there's so much to say?

I want that feel
Like a plane when it arrives
Where at the gate
Family waits with quiet smiles
And all is pure
With a bright sense of relief
I can trust you love
If you can trust me
If you can trust me


from Dear Lover (The Acoustic Version), released May 7, 2010
Performed By Matthew Ryan



all rights reserved


Matthew Ryan Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Matthew Ryan is experiencing a noisy renaissance. It began in 2014 with "Boxers" and now with "Hustle Up Starlings" we see the follow-through.
Produced by Brian Fallon, "Starlings" shimmers with silvery anthems & a captivating focus. The set clocks in at 40 minutes with no prevarication or bluster, just a celebratory noise alight w/ hearts, broken-in voices & poetry.
... more


contact / help

Contact Matthew Ryan

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code